Member Spotlight: Jess King

Tell us about yourself!

Hi! I’m Jess. I’ve been living in Hamilton with my partner, 3 year old son, and 15 year old shitzu mix pup since 2020. We made the move during the thick of Covid from Toronto (where else!) and couldn’t be happier. 

What got you into CrossFit?

When I went back to work after mat leave, I decided it was time to find a new gym. I was adjusting to being a “working mom” so I wanted something relatively close to home. I have always done group workouts, but never CrossFit and was actually scared to try since what I had been told from friends were things like “you run ’til you puke” or “coaches don’t let you stop”.  I put those thoughts aside and decided to give Alchemy a shot and haven’t looked back.

What do you like about Alchemy?

The people. Everyone is so friendly and encouraging. It’s what I love about group fitness.  Everyone is there to do their best but then support everyone else around them.  Even if you aren’t having the best day, you will still get a shout of encouragement and there is never any pressure to do more than you think your body can handle. 

What has been your proudest moment at Alchemy?

My deadlift PR.  It made me realize how strong I’ve become.

What are your CrossFit goals for the future?

Not CrossFit specific, but keeping consistent with my workouts.  As I am now officially in my 40s, I want to make sure that I can keep up with my little guy. Being able to do one full pull-up would be cool too.

If you could design the perfect workout, what would it include?

Probably lots of strength-based movements with a side of running and top it off with a vanilla dip donut from Grandad’s.  

What’s the biggest change you’ve seen in yourself since you started CrossFit?

Not being afraid to try and lift something a bit heavier and confidence in working through different movements, especially with the barbell.  I had only worked out with dumbbells in the past so feeling greater confidence in my movements has been awesome.

When you’re not at the gym, what’s your favourite thing to do?

Spending time with my partner and son. Or if I have some time to myself, read a book. 

What’s your favourite local Hamilton food spot?

Oh, hard to choose! But I’ll say Mystic Ramen for their kid friendly environment and Flora Pizzeria because I love pizza.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get fit from home!